Fabrizio Lavagna

Fabrizio Lavagna was born on 18 December 1971 in Savona, Italy. 


In 2004, he enrolled at the Carrara Academy of Fine Arts and became a student of Omar Galliani.
Winner in 2006 of the Erasmus scholarship of the University of Bellas Artes of Murcia, this experience will have an impact on his entire artistic production.
In 2008 he graduated with honours from the jury with a thesis entitled "The epocal mutation of pictorial materials". The same year he was chosen to do a master's degree in Sacred Art at the Stauros Museum of Sacred Art on the isola of Gran Sasso in Teramo, Italy.
From 2008 to 2010, he enrolled in the "Advanced Course in the Art of the Liturgy" with the artists Angelo Casciello and Giuliano Giuliani at the Castle of Scopoli.
He finished his studies in 2011 and graduated with honours from the Academy of Fine Arts of Carrara with a thesis on "Materials in Contemporary Art. »

The artist then left Italy to settle in Montpellier.
In 2017 he met a paleontologist who shared with him his passion for prehistory, dinosaurs and extinct species. The artist is then confronted with the reality of the evolution of our planet and the consequences of climate change.

He then decides to reintegrate the presence of dinosaurs in the modern world by creating aluminium and marble sculptures with the skeletons of extinct animals. He mixes past, present and future by integrating anachronistic objects into his creations.

In Fabrizio Lavagna's works, the elegance of bodies and subjects contrasts with the use of raw materials, creating aesthetic paradoxes.

In the course of his career, the artist has experimented with different techniques and different types of supports: from simple sheets of raw cotton, to recycled jeans, pieces of used tires, but also marble, wood, and aluminum. The materials chosen are the central point around which the artist's creativity develops, they lose their daily utility and become a common place between the work and the object.

Lavagna brings to art a concrete dimension, close to reality, where the self-referentiality that characterizes contemporary art is left aside in favor of the immediacy that characterizes the whole of his artistic production.
Fabrizio Lavagna has been exhibiting his sculptures at the Musée Longchamp in Marseille - France since December 12, 2019 on the occasion of the museum's bicentenary.

Peintures :
Sculpture :

Fabrizio Lavagna
IMG_20191110_171408.jpg

Fabrizio Lavagna est né le 18 Décembre 1971 à Savona en Italie. 

 

En 2004, il s’inscrit à l’Académie des Beaux-arts de Carrare et devient l’élève de Omar Galliani.

Lauréat en 2006 de la bourse Erasmus de l'Université de Bellas Artes de Murcia, cette expérience aura une incidence sur l'ensemble de sa production artistique.

En 2008, il obtient avec les honneurs du jury son diplôme avec une thèse intitulée « La mutation épocale des matières picturales ». La même année on le choisit pour faire une maitrise d’art sacré au Musée Stauros d’Art Sacré de l’îsola de Gran Sasso à Teramo en Italie.

De 2008 à 2010, il s’inscrit aux « Cours de perfectionnement à l’art de la liturgie » avec les artistes Angelo Casciello et Giuliano Giuliani au château de Scopoli.

Il termine ses études en 2011 et obtient avec les honneurs son diplôme de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Carrare, en présentant une thèse sur « Les matériaux dans l’art contemporain. »

L'artiste quitte ensuite l'Italie pour s’installer à Montpellier.

En 2017 il fait la connaissance d’un paléontologue qui lui fait partager sa passion pour la préhistoire, les dinosaures et les espèces disparues. L'artiste est alors confronté à la réalité de l’ évolution de notre planète et des conséquences du dérèglement climatique.

Il décide alors de réintégrer la présence des dinosaures dans le monde moderne en créant des sculptures en aluminium et en marbre avec les squelettes des animaux disparus. Il y mêle le passé, le présent et le futur en intégrant des objets anachroniques dans ses créations.

Dans les œuvres de Fabrizio Lavagna, l’élégance des corps et des sujets contraste avec l’usage de matériaux bruts, créant des paradoxes esthétiques.

Au cours de sa carrière, l’artiste a expérimenté différentes techniques et différents types de supports: du simple drap de coton brut, en passant par le jean recyclé, des morceaux de pneus usagés mais aussi le marbre, le bois, et l’aluminium. Les matériaux choisis sont le point central autour duquel se développe la créativité de l’artiste, ils perdent leur utilité quotidienne pour devenir un lieu commun entre l’œuvre et l’objet.

Lavagna apporte à l’art une dimension concrète, proche du réel, où l’auto-référentialité qui caractérise l’art contemporain est laissée de côté au profit de l’immédiateté qui caractérise l’ensemble de sa production artistique.

Fabrizio Lavagna expose ses sculptures au Musée Longchamp de Marseille depuis le 12 décembre 2019 à l’occasion du bicentenaire du Musée.

IMG_20191109_171233.jpg
Peintures :
Sculpture :